The RCB has Announced The Appointment of a New Head Coach

Spread the Information

The RCB has Announced The Appointment of a New Head Coach

The RCB has announced the appointment of a new Head Coach, officially ending Mike Hesson’s and Sanjay Bangar’s terms.
Royal Challengers Bangalore named Andy Flower as their New Head Coach on Friday, Effectively terminating the tenures of Mike Hesson and Sanjay Bangar. Both Hesson’s (director of cricket operations) and Bangar’s (head coach) contracts were due for Renewal in September, but the franchise opted to part ways with both. Before drafting Flower in, Rajesh Menon, Vice-President and Head of RCB, met with him in London for Negotiations.

Flower stated that he is excited to lead the RCB to greater heights in the IPL 2024.
“I am pleased to be joining RCB. “I respect the work of Mike Hesson and Sanjay Bangar, two coaches I admire, and I am looking forward to the task of pushing RCB to new heights,” he stated.

Flower has vast IPL experience, having previously worked with LSG and Punjab Kings.

The former Zimbabwe batsman expressed excitement about working with RCB players, notably skipper Faf du Plessis.

“I’m especially thrilled to be reunited with Faf.” We have already collaborated very well, and I am anxious to expand our business and connection into something bigger and better.

“We have a great group of players to work with, and I recognize and appreciate both the incredible opportunity with RCB and the responsibility that comes with the job.” “It’s a fantastic challenge, and I can’t wait to get started,” Flower continued.

“We would like to thank Mike Hesson and Sanjay Bangar for their excellent work over the past four seasons, culminating in three play-offs,” said RCB chairman Prathmesh Mishra of the decision to hire Flower as head coach. Their expertise and work ethics have always been regarded well.” Confirming their departure, Hesson and Bangar praised the franchise for the chance to work with them and described their time with them as a wonderful experience.

RCB has yet to make an announcement on their Women’s Premier League coaching staff. Ben Sawyer is the team’s head coach, and his contract is also being reviewed as part of an internal review.

RCB Team History

Over the years, RCB has had a mix of successes and challenges in the IPL. Here’s a brief overview of their team history:

1. IPL 2008: In the inaugural IPL season, RCB was led by Rahul Dravid. The team finished in the seventh position in the league stage and did not qualify for the playoffs.

2. IPL 2009: Under the captaincy of Kevin Pietersen and later Anil Kumble, RCB improved their performance and finished as the runners-up in the tournament. They lost to the Deccan Chargers in the final.

3. IPL 2010: RCB finished in the third position in the league stage but couldn’t progress to the final, missing out on the opportunity to win the title.

4. IPL 2011: Led by Daniel Vettori, RCB once again reached the final but lost to the Chennai Super Kings in a close encounter.

5. IPL 2012: RCB’s performance dipped, and they finished in the fifth position, missing the playoffs.

6. IPL 2013: Under the leadership of Virat Kohli, RCB struggled and finished in the fifth position once again.

7. IPL 2014: RCB improved their performance and reached the playoffs but couldn’t advance further, finishing in the seventh position.

8. IPL 2015: RCB had a spectacular season and reached the final for the third time in their history. However, they lost to the Mumbai Indians in the title clash.

9. IPL 2016: Despite some brilliant individual performances, RCB ended the season as the runners-up again, losing to the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final.

10. IPL 2017: RCB had a challenging season and finished in the eighth position, their worst performance in an IPL season.

11. IPL 2018: Once again, RCB struggled to find consistency and finished in the sixth position.

12. IPL 2019: RCB had another disappointing season, finishing at the bottom of the points table.

13. IPL 2020: In the UAE due to the COVID-19 pandemic, RCB showed some improvement, finishing in the fourth position in the league stage, but they were eliminated in the playoffs.

14. IPL 2021: Harshal Patel emerged as the team’s breakout performer this season, finishing with 32 wickets, equaling the record for most wickets taken in a season and won the Purple Cap. Glenn Maxwell led the club in run scoring with 513 (the sixth most in the season). Virat Kohli made history by being the first hitter to amass 6000 runs in an IPL season.

15. IPL 2022: Before the start of the season, star batter AB de Villiers announced his retirement in November 2021, and RCB announced a new captain, Faf du Plessis, after former captain Virat Kohli announced his retirement following the second leg of the 2021 IPL season. Sanjay Bangar has also been named head coach.

RCB purchased Reece Topley, Will Jacks, Rajan Kumar, Avinash Singh, Sonu Yadav, Himanshu Sharma, and Manoj Bhadange at the auction ahead of the 2023 season.

You Might Also Like to Read

Spread the Information

1 thought on “The RCB has Announced The Appointment of a New Head Coach”

Leave a Comment